Punjab meeting outcomes | AAP wins all three seats in Mohali district


The Aam Aadmi Get together (AAP) has gained all three seats in Mohali district amid a significant setback to former Punjab cupboard minister and Congress chief from Mohali, Balbir Singh Sidhu, who misplaced to former mayor Kulwant Singh.

The state’s richest candidate and AAP nominee Kulwant Singh defeated three-time MLA Sidhu by 34,097 votes. Kulwant Singh polled 77,134 votes, whereas Sidhu bagged 43,037 votes.

In Kharar, first-time candidate Anmol Gagan Mann of the AAP gained the seat by 37,885 votes. The Punjabi singer secured 78,273 votes and Ranjeet Singh Gill of the SAD acquired 40,388 votes. Congress candidate Vijay Sharma Tinku polled solely 25,291 votes. The seat was being keenly watched, it being the hometown of Punjab chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi.

In Dera Bassi, Kuljeet Singh Randhawa of the AAP defeated former Congress MLA Deepinder Singh Dhillon by 21,610 votes. Randhawa, who joined the AAP from the Congress two years in the past, bagged 69,870 votes and Dhillon polled 48,260 votes. Sitting MLA and native actual property baron NK Sharma of the SAD bagged the third place by securing 47,678 votes.

The counting began at two centres in Sector 78, Mohali, at 8am. For Mohali phase, the counting was finished in 20 rounds and for Kharar and Dera Bassi in 23 every.

Mohali district recorded 66.72% polling on February 20. Dera Bassi noticed the very best turnout of 69.25%, adopted by Kharar with 66.17% turnout and Mohali 64.76%. As many as 40 candidates had been within the fray from all three assemblies.


Supply hyperlink