Manglore varsity retains nationwide cross nation title


Mangalore College has retained the championship for the fifth consecutive years within the All India Inter-university Males’s Cross Nation Championship held in Moodbidri on Sunday.

The championship was organised collectively by Mangalore College and Alva’s School. All of the six athletes who represented the Mangalore College have been from Alva’s School.

Narendra Pratap of the host college clocked 31.52 minutes to clinch the highest place. Pintu Kumar Yadav of Punjabi College Patiala got here second with time of 32.13 minutes. Sathish Kumar S H of Madras College was third with 32.33 minutes.

Alva’s Training Basis chairman Dr M Mohan Alva sponsored money awards for the highest three winners with Rs 25,000, Rs 20,000 and Rs 15,000 respectively.

Equally, Abdul Bari of Mangalore College, who completed fourth (32.30 min) gained Rs 10,000. Mohan Saini of Kumaun College, Nainital, and Rohith Yadav of Rajiv Gandhi College of Well being Sciences, Bengaluru, took dwelling Rs 5,000 every for ending fifth and sixth with timings of 32.49 minutes and 32.58 minutes respectively.

The occasion concerned a 10-km run, which was flagged off by Mangaluru Police Commissioner Dr P S Harsha from Nishmita Towers. The athletes handed via Fundamental Street-Mahaveera School-Jain School-Alangar to achieve the Swaraj Maidan artificial observe.

Workforce champions

With penalty factors figuring out the result of the group’s place on the Cross Nation Championship, Mangalore College was positioned first with 30 factors, whereas Punjabi College, Patiala, was second with 53 factors. Savithri Bai Phule Pune College (62 factors), Sant Baba Bhag Singh College (85 factors), Maharshi Dayananad College (136 factors) secured third, fourth and fifth locations respectively.

Atomised transponders and digital clocks have been used to file the timing and place of the contributors. A complete of 175 universities with 1500 athletes participated within the occasion.

Mangalore College Vice Chancellor Dr P S Yadapadithaya distributed the prizes to winners.


Supply hyperlink