Bangalore turns into ‘Bengaluru’; 11 different cities renamed


BANGALORE: Shedding the colonial title, Bangalore in the present day grew to become Bengaluru synchronising with the state formation day “Karnataka Rajyotsava”.

In tandem, 11 different cities throughout Karnataka had been additionally rechristened by the state authorities, casting away the anglicised names.

The brand new names have come into power after the state authorities issued a particular gazette notification to impact the adjustments, giving them the distinct native flavour.

Now Bangalore shall be known as Bengaluru, Mangalore (Mangaluru), Mysore (Mysuru), Bellary (Ballari), Belgaum (Belagavi), Hubli (Hubballi), Tumkur (Tumakuru), Bijapur (Vijayapura), Chikmagalur (Chikkamagaluru), Gulbarga (Kalaburagi), Hospet (Hosapete) and Shimoga (Shivamogga).

Within the ninth century, Bangalore was known as Bengaval-uru (metropolis of guards). Within the twelfth century, based on one other legend, it grew to become Benda-kaalu-ooru (city of boiled beans).

In line with an apocryphal, twelfth century Hoysala king Veera Ballala II misplaced his means throughout a searching expedition in a forest. A poor previous lady supplied him boiled beans to the drained king, who with a way of gratitude known as the place “benda-kaalu-uru”.

Kempegowda, a feudatory ruler underneath the erstwhile Vijayanagara Empire, was thought of the founding father of Bangalore. He selected Bendakaluru for his capital in early sixteenth century, which remodeled into Bengaluru and in colonial occasions, and through British rule grew to become Bangalore.

Town has in latest a long time metamorphosed into the nation’s IT capital, incomes it the tag the Silicon Valley of India, as additionally as Biotech capital, after its earlier types as a Pensioner’s Paradise and Backyard Metropolis.

With explosive development and cracking infrastructure, the town has now earned the infamous distinction as “Rubbish Metropolis”. Bengaluru can be evolving as a “StartUp Metropolis”, incubating the brand new ventures.

Eight years after the state had despatched a proposal to the Centre on a sugggestion by Jnanpeeth awardee late U R Ananthamurthy to rechristen Bangalore, the NDA authorities gave its clearance to it and different adjustments lately.

The title altering course of started in 2006 after the JDS-BJP authorities introduced that they deliberate to rename 12 cities, together with Bangalore and Belgaum.

The method bumped into tough climate after the Maharashtra authorities filed an objection with the Dwelling Ministry on the problem of renaming Belgaum, which it claims is a part of that state. Subsequently, it had remained on the backburner.

Whereas the federal government has modified the names, some instructional establishments and personal corporations usually are not eager on switching over to the brand new ones, based on experiences.

“The change in title applies to cities, not establishments. Even after rechristening of Bombay and Madras, college names remained the identical,” Bangalore College Vice Chancellor B Thimme Gowda has stated.

As for personal companies and organisations, there shall be no compulsion on them to vary their registered names, Karnataka Chief Secretary Kuashik Mukherjee stated.

“The federal government just isn’t altering the names in a chauvinistic method however adhering to the emotions of the native individuals,” he added.

Bangalore has now joined the listing of different cities to be rechristened after Bombay grew to become Mumbai in 1995, Madras Chennai in 1996, Calcutta Kolkata in 2001 and Trivandrum to Thiruvananthapuram in 1991, amongst others.


Supply hyperlink